Category: Sports Facts

5 Facts about the Northern Premier League Not Everyone Knows

Every sports fan has a favorite sport that they like to watch or play. Every one of them follows a specific league or competition. So, if you want to be a proper Northern Premier League follower, you should know a lot of its history, fun facts, and numbers. In here, we share some of those things with you:

What Is The Northern Premier League?

The Northern Premier League was founded in 1968. It is the northern equivalent to the Southern League. Despite its name, the league includes the areas of northern England, north of the Midlands, and also the central zone of the Midlands.

The league has three divisions: The Division One East, The Premier Division, and The Division One West.

Which Teams Are In The Premier Division?

The Premier Division has 22 clubs: Workington, Bamber Bridge, North Ferriby United, Stafford Rangers, Warrington Town, Basford United, Witton Albion, Gainsborough Trinity, Grantham Town, and Whitby Town.

Other teams in this division are Hyde United, Lancaster City, Buxton, Marine, Farsley Celtic, Matlock Town, Hednesford Town, Mickleover Sports, Nantwich Town, and Scarborough Athletic.

Which Teams Are On The Division One West?

The Division One West has 20 clubs: Atherton Collieries, Widnes, Chasetown, Colwyn Bay, Kendal Town, Droylsden, Glossop North End, Colne, Kidsgrove Athletic, Market Drayton Town, Prescot Cables, Mossley, Newcastle Town, Leek Town, Radcliffe Borough, Trafford, Runcorn Linnets, Skelmersdale United, Ramsbottom United, and Clitheroe.

Which Teams Are On The Division One East?

The Division One East has 20 clubs: AFC Mansfield, Belper Town, Wisbech Town, Carlton Town, Cleethorpes Town, Frickley Athletic, Stocksbridge Park Steels, Gresley, Spalding United, Lincoln United, Pontefract Collieries, Marske United, Sheffield, Morpeth Town, Ossett United, Loughborough Dynamo, Pickering Town, Stamford, Tadcaster Albion, and Brighouse Town.

How Do The Teams Upgrade?

At the end of the season, two teams earn an upgrade to the Football Conference. These teams are the league champion and the play-off winner.

Remember all these facts and compete with your friends about who knows more about the NPL!

3 Facts about Hednesford Town F.C. Every Supporter Should Know

Being a fan of Hednesford Town F.C. isn’t just a passion, it is a way of living! If you consider yourself a fan of this team, you should definitely know these facts:

The Beginning

The Hednesford Town Football Club was one of the founding members of the Birmingham and District League in 1889. The team played on that league for a short period of time, just two seasons. Even though they finished third on the league, they left it at the end of the 1890-1891 season.

The club got the second place in this league, right before the league changed its name to the Walsall and District League in 1897.

A Bit Of Story

The club originally played behind the Anglesey Hotel, but in 1904 they had to move to the Cross Keys ground. After that, the club moved again, but now to Keys Park. They ended first on the league in the 1950–51 campaign. The following season, in the 1952-53 season, they finished as second. After that, the team came back to be part of the Birmingham and District League.

In 1972, the club became part of the Midland League. In the 1991–92 season, Hednesford Town was promoted to the Premier Division. In the 1994–95 campaign, they finished first on that league. After that, they were promoted to the Football Conference.

Which Awards Have They Won?

The team has won lots of awards, but the most famous are these ones: Their Best FA Trophy performance was in the 2003-04 campaign when they won the league. Their Best Welsh Cup performance was in 1991-92 season when they got the finals.

The players also won some awards while being on the team. For example, the team player with most appearances was Kevin Foster, with 470 and the team player with most goals was Joe O’Connor, with 220.

If you consider yourself a true supporter of Hednesford Town Football Club, then you must not forget these facts!