5 Facts about the Northern Premier League Not Everyone Knows

Every sports fan has a favorite sport that they like to watch or play. Every one of them follows a specific league or competition. So, if you want to be a proper Northern Premier League follower, you should know a lot of its history, fun facts, and numbers. In here, we share some of those things with you:

What Is The Northern Premier League?

The Northern Premier League was founded in 1968. It is the northern equivalent to the Southern League. Despite its name, the league includes the areas of northern England, north of the Midlands, and also the central zone of the Midlands.

The league has three divisions: The Division One East, The Premier Division, and The Division One West.

Which Teams Are In The Premier Division?

The Premier Division has 22 clubs: Workington, Bamber Bridge, North Ferriby United, Stafford Rangers, Warrington Town, Basford United, Witton Albion, Gainsborough Trinity, Grantham Town, and Whitby Town.

Other teams in this division are Hyde United, Lancaster City, Buxton, Marine, Farsley Celtic, Matlock Town, Hednesford Town, Mickleover Sports, Nantwich Town, and Scarborough Athletic.

Which Teams Are On The Division One West?

The Division One West has 20 clubs: Atherton Collieries, Widnes, Chasetown, Colwyn Bay, Kendal Town, Droylsden, Glossop North End, Colne, Kidsgrove Athletic, Market Drayton Town, Prescot Cables, Mossley, Newcastle Town, Leek Town, Radcliffe Borough, Trafford, Runcorn Linnets, Skelmersdale United, Ramsbottom United, and Clitheroe.

Which Teams Are On The Division One East?

The Division One East has 20 clubs: AFC Mansfield, Belper Town, Wisbech Town, Carlton Town, Cleethorpes Town, Frickley Athletic, Stocksbridge Park Steels, Gresley, Spalding United, Lincoln United, Pontefract Collieries, Marske United, Sheffield, Morpeth Town, Ossett United, Loughborough Dynamo, Pickering Town, Stamford, Tadcaster Albion, and Brighouse Town.

How Do The Teams Upgrade?

At the end of the season, two teams earn an upgrade to the Football Conference. These teams are the league champion and the play-off winner.

Remember all these facts and compete with your friends about who knows more about the NPL!